Thursday, 25 January 2018 16:27

Energy conservation award for Professor R.V.G. Menon

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)


R.V.G. Menon has been selected for the Kerala State Akshaya Oorja Award, 2017, for his lifetime contribution for energy conservation.

Power Minister M.M. Mani told reporters here on Wednesday that the award was instituted by the Agency for Non-Conventional Energy and Rural Technology (ANERT) for popularising renewable energy options and energy conservation by institutions and individuals.

Cochin Shipyard Limited; Ahalya Alternate Energy Private Limited, Palakkad; Wonderla, Kochi; S.D. College, Alappuzha; Amal Jyothi Engineering College; Renewable Energy Centre, Mithradam, Aluva; and Njeezhoor grama panchayat, Kottayam; have won awards in industrial, commercial, educational institutions, non-profit organisations and local bodies categories. The institutions in the first three categories would be presented a citation and ₹50,000 each, the non-profit organisation and local body ₹1 lakh each and a citation and Prof. Menon a citation and ₹1 lakh.

As many as 11 institutions, Thrissur Corporation, and five individuals would be presented citations in honour of their contributions in energy conservation. The winners were selected by a jury constituted by the government. The awards would be distributed on February 28, the Minister said.

Additional Info

  • News Section: Other Renewable Energy
  • Month: January
  • Year: 2018
Read 149 times Last modified on Thursday, 25 January 2018 16:27